Mr. Mischievious

25 Jan

There are many, many things I love about Gumbo!  He is so sweet, handsome as can be, and quite smart.  But, the thing I love most is his silliness!  This boy is never short on causing trouble and often plots and schemes and always makes me laugh.


The other day, I took off my socks and set them on top of my dresser.  Gumbo and I then made the bed, I brushed my teeth, and we played a little tennis ball in the bedroom.  The moment I was totally occupied with something else, he casually walked over to my dresser and snatched the socks.  He didn’t make a big production out of the thievery; he very naturally took them and walked off.  It had been at least 15 minutes from the time I took them off till the moment he grabbed them!  He waited until the opportune moment and seized it!  (Don’t worry, he never chews clothing items and has never destroyed anything.  Once he is a safe distance from you, he shakes the item at you in a “come chase me” sort of way.)

This morning, our alarm went off at 5:30 like normal.  Ben and I dragged ourselves out of bed for the morning walk.  I pulled my workout clothes out of my drawers and put them on the bed.  As I changed, Gumbo quietly climbed out from under the covers and crawled army-style over to my shirt.  He then grabbed it and started to crawl back towards the head of the bed.  It was 5:30 in the morning, 2 minutes before this he was sound asleep, and he was under the covers!  How on earth did he know that my shirt is sitting unattended on the bed?!?!  Such a clever little boy!  The best part was, as I caught him, he looked up at me with sweet puppy dog eyes as if to say “What? I was just trying to help.” But, if you really know Gumbo, you can see straight through the sweet puppy dog eyes to the look of total mischief!

Gumbo’s breeders often tell us of the shenanigans the little boy in the purple collar would get into!  He was always up to something in the whelping box 🙂  He was just born with a playful soul!

Many people might not love this mischievous aspect of Gumbo’s personality, but I adore it!  I hate to admit it, but I tend to stress over stupid, unimportant things.  I woke at 5:30 worrying about the day and all the things on my “To Do” list.  It’s a terrible way to wake up.  Gumbo does something so silly like army crawl across the bed to steal your shirt and you can’t help but laugh.  He is so good for my soul and just makes me laugh all the time!  In his own simple way, he reminds me to have fun with life and not worry so much.

I leave you with two pictures from 2011’s Christmas card photo shoot.  The first is the “perfect” family photo.  We spent well over an hour taking pictures just to get the one shot to send to our family and friends in the holiday card.  I had the outfits planned days in advanced and tried on at least 3 pairs of earrings to make sure everything was perfect.  Gumbo wasn’t enjoying the staged family photo shoot and decided to take matters into his own hands.  My favorite picture is the true Scruggs family photo with Silly Gumbo just being himself.

4 Responses to “Mr. Mischievious”

  1. 2browndawgs January 25, 2012 at 7:09 AM #

    Gumbo sure sounds like a character!

  2. Click. The Good News January 25, 2012 at 8:15 AM #

    Too cute- I love personality! My dogs do the same things with socks- but only if I’ve just taken them off. Love the new family portrait =)

  3. Anna January 25, 2012 at 10:24 AM #

    he sounds hilarious! I sometimes wish I had gotten a boy for this reason.. they really so seem to tend more towards the happy go lucky, silly side and I could use more of that. My girl is far too serious most days, too much like me. But in the end I still prefer girl dogs I think. Thanks for sharing the story!
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Mischief – Tug of war « A Tail of Two Vizslas - January 30, 2012

    […] recently discovered the Monday Mischief Blog Hop. Considering our two troublemakers (particularly Mr. Mischievous), we just had to join this blog […]

Leave a Reply

