Monday Mischief – Our Favorite Little Thief

20 Feb

Good Monday morning to you!  Monday morning can mean only one thing at our house… time for a Gumbo Monday Mischief story!  This silly boy continues to be ridiculous 🙂

Gumbo, our little thief, tries to climb under the gate to get the orange vests!

We live in a two bedroom townhouse in St. Louis.  Our guest room isn’t anything fancy, but we have a baby gate blocking the doorway to keep our four legged babies out.  It’s okay if they go in the room with us, but they have no real business going in by themselves.

Today, when we got home from our first field trial experience (check back on Wednesday for the details!), I dropped our orange hunting vests over the gate to hang in the guest closet (I promise, I wasn’t planning to leave them on the floor.  My hands were full so I dropped the vests over the gate until I could climb over and hang them up.)  As I was putting the other items away in our bedroom, I heard Gumbo whining like a little baby.  I looked over and he was totally trying to climb under the gate to reach the vests – remember, Gumbo is our silly little thief!

I went back to my task and after a few seconds, Gumbo stopped his crying.  I assumed he went downstairs to hang with Ben.  After my chores where finished, I headed to the guestroom to hang up the vests and guess what I found… GUMBO!

I’m not sure if he climbed under the gate or jumped over the gate, but there he was… in the guestroom.  He looked a little freaked out at first.  He wasn’t sure why he was in the guestroom.  As I started to laugh and ran to grab my camera, Gumbo started to play with the vests and challenge me to come “get him.”  Crack me up!

Mom, Come Get Me!!! HEHEHE!

In true Gumbo form, he didn’t damage the vests or even chew them.  He just pounced around acting like a goof!  I love this funny boy!  Enjoy your week!

Help, Help! I'm in puppy jail! BOL!!!

This is a Blog Hop. Thanks to Alfie’s Blog, Snoopy’s Dog Blog, Luna, a Dog’s Life, and My Brown Newfies for setting up this hop. Please go to any of the sponsoring blogs to find out who else has been mischievous or to join the hop.

6 Responses to “Monday Mischief – Our Favorite Little Thief”

  1. Bassetmomma February 20, 2012 at 8:10 AM #

    That Gumbo’s hilarious! He reminds me of my Freddie! Fred’s just shorter. lol

  2. sagechronicles February 20, 2012 at 2:30 PM #

    Oh, fun! Gumbo sounds like my kinda dog.

  3. heyitsjethere February 20, 2012 at 2:50 PM #

    Hey Gumbo, Jet here. Good move, man. Mom put up this SERIOUS gate http://heyitsjethere.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/i-cant-believe-im-writing-this/ and Koko… may she be enjoying her time over the rainbow bridge, wiggled in and showed me how. Mom NEVER thought I could fit in such a small space.

    Our humans do tend to underestimate us because we’re a little larger, huh? Glad your human has a wonderful sense of humor like our Mom!

  4. Rocco February 20, 2012 at 7:34 PM #

    If she laughs, you won’t get in trouble. It’s a rule! ^^

  5. 2browndawgs February 21, 2012 at 6:13 AM #

    Oh that silly Gumbo. He probably would have been happy to stay there all day if you didn’t rescue him. 🙂 Thunder always lays on my husband’s hunting clothes or gun case (empty) if he sets them on the floor. It is sort of like: “you can’t leave without me if I am on the hunting stuff”.

  6. Susan J February 23, 2012 at 4:17 PM #

    Hi! Love reading your blog, and just wanted to let you know I’ve given you the Versatile Blogger Award! Check out my February 23rd blog for more details!

Leave a Reply

